RPP in favour of fully proportional electoral system: new party president Lingden

Dec 05, 2021

Photo: RSS

Kathmandu: The Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) has elected a new leadership with Rajendra Lingden.

Bikram Pandey, Buddhiman Tamang, Dhruba Bahadur Pradhan and Roshan Karki have been elected the four vice-presidents of the new RPP Working Committee. Similarly, Dr Dhawal Sumsher Rana, Bhuwan Pathak and Kunti Kumari Shahi are elected the general secretaries.

Although provisions had been made for 199-member working committee, election was held for 149 posts. The remaining 50 central committee members would now be nominated.

The new working committee will also nominate other office-bearers including four vice-presidents, three general secretaries, one treasurer, one joint treasurer and seven joint general secretaries.

The newly-elected RPP president Lingden said development and prosperity could not be achieved as adequate employment was not created in the country mainly due to the ‘unsuccessful generation’ of leaders leading the nation after the 1990 political change, stressing on handing over the leadership to the new generation in all parties and in contemporary politics.

He asserted that the RPP under his leadership would promote the agendas of Hindu nation, constitutional monarchy and others by running a campaign throughout the country. The new RPP president also vowed to end the ‘factions’ in the party by running the party as per the due process and procedure.

As he said, the RPP would lay emphasis in favour of adoption of fully proportional electoral system in the forthcoming national election.