NA election: Ruling alliance clean sweep in Gandaki Province Reporter
Jan 26, 2022

Pokhara: The ruling alliance has won all the three posts in Gandaki province for the National Assembly.. Coalition candidates Bhuwan Bahadur Sunar (Dalit), Kamala Pant (female) and Suresh Kumar Ale Magar (others) have been elected.

Voting for 19 vacant posts of National Assembly members was held  today at 8 polling stations and 14 centers in different provinces of the country from 9 am to 3 pm. S

Bhuwan Bahadur Sunar,  from the CPN (Maoist Center) in the Dalit quota, has received 3,048 votes. His UML rival Arjun Kumar Sunam got 2724 votes. Kamala Pant, who was elected from the Nepali Congress on behalf of women, got 3084 votes. Her rival UML’s Leela Pokhrel Thanet got 2724 votes. Similarly, Suresh Kumar Ale Mgar of CPN (Maoist) got 3096 votes while Punya Prasad Poudel of UML got 2694 votes.

A total of 227 votes were cast in the election held at the Election Commission office in Pokhara with 59 votes from the province assembly members and 168 votes from the local level.

The term of office of 8 members of CPN (UML), 4 members of CPN (Unified Socialist), 4 members of CPN (Maoist Center) and 3 members of Nepali Congress is coming to an end on March 4. Voting was held on Wednesday as per the provision that the election should be held 35 days before the expiration of the term of the members.