Bipul Pokharel panel wins in FNJ election

Avatar Reporter
Apr 10, 2021

Kathmandu, April 10: Bipul Pokharel has been elected President of the Federation of Nepali Journalists (FNJ).

He secured 6,942 votes while his nearest rival Nirmala Sharma got 3,915.

Likewise, Gajendra Prasad Budhathoki and Ram Prasad Dahal, who had also fielded their candidacies for the president, secured 491 and 156 votes respectively.

For the first time in the federation’s history, there were more than 13,000 voters in the direct election system. The election was held on April 7.

Most of candidates in the Pokharel panel have been elected. Pokharel had nominated his candidature on behalf of a coalition of 11 organizations including the Press Union Nepal close to the Nepali Congress, the Press Organization Nepal close to the CPN-Maoist Center and the Press Chautari near the Madhav Nepal group of the CPN-UML.

Press Chautari, close to the Oli faction of the CPN-UML, had fielded Nirmala Sharma as its candidate for the post along with nine other unions, including the Janata Samajwadi Party-affiliated Press Forum and the Biplav-backed Janapatrakar Sangh. Gajendra Budhathoki had also given his candidature for the post.

Under Pokhrel’s panel, Ramesh Bista has been elected senior vice president while Bala Adhikari vice president (woman category), Udaya GM vice president (inclusive category), Roshan Puri general secretary and Kalendra Sejuwal treasurer.

Likewise, Gobinda Chaulagain has been elected secretary (open category), Sirjana Aryal secretary (woman category), Narayan Sundar Kilambu secretary (indigenous nationalities category), Dipendra Chauhan secretary (Madhesi category), Hem Karna BK secretary (Dalit category) and Paban Acharya secretary (associate). Also, Lekhnath Neupane was selected as coordinator of the public accoun